CHOPS AT LARGE: Derro magnet

It would appear that I am something of a derro magnet.

The other day, I was walking down Lygon St after work. Casually minding my own business, listening to some music en route to my hairdresser, I was stopped by a bloke my BFF describes as the Semi-Homeless. You know the type — he probably did have a home, and a local pub to drink in, but a pretty shitty home and only the shittiest pubs. He was wearing a sheepskin jacket and a flanno, and had he been 20 years younger, without the packet of Holiday 50s, I probably would have fancied him. Anyway, he gave me a lascivious wink, a big smile and an enthusiastic “G’DAY RANGA!” I have to say, old derros just don’t wink like they used to. And I’ll be honest: I didn’t mind it.

But really, what did he think would come of it? Did he think I would check my watch and say “oh, semi-homeless! I’m not doing anything right now, how about you? I am sure you have a very busy schedule, between Centrelink and going to the TAB to bet on the trots, but you seem like a bit of orright. Perhaps we could get a drink and get to know each other better?” Soz, derro. No dice.

As I had a free afternoon, and basically am a pervert, I just watched some local footy down at Brunswick St. My usual bench on the wing was taken, so I spent the first half sitting behind the goals, but a) it made me feel like a poor person, and b) I kept having to kick it in from the boundary after every score.

At 3/4 time my favorite bench became available so I snapped it up. I was minding my own business when I was joined by some KING bogans. One was having a fight with the missus on the mobile because apparently that fucken bitch had overspent on the credit card. Again. All this while sucking down a dart. And a Woodstock can. What a guy.

I’m quite an enthusiastic follower of The Downlow podcast and would like to nick one of their ideas by nominating King Bogan as DROPKICK OF THE WEEK for his comment to a long-haired Reds player. “OI PONYTAIL! YA LOOK LIKE ME STEPSISTER!”

I was tempted to ask if he roots like her too, but thought he might punch me in the throat.

4 thoughts on “CHOPS AT LARGE: Derro magnet

  1. Ally says:

    If he punched you in the throat it would have been a great way to reconnect with the Brendan Cowell Ambo.

    Just sayin.

  2. […] posts on how much derros love me, but I just think you should know that one of the Semi-Homeless (see here for definition) deemed it necessary to call me a slut today. And I was just minding my own business! What is an […]

Leave a comment